Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Artist Anila Quayyum Agha named one of nine judges for Michigan's ArtPrize

By Jim Harger
2014 ArtPrize Finalist Anila Quayyum Agha is one of eight judges who will award the $200,000 juried grand prize and the five $12,500 category awards.
GRAND RAPIDS---ArtPrize announced a panel of judges who will choose the finalists for the $200,000 juried grand prize and the five $12,500 category awards. The Grand Prize will be chosen by a three-judge panel that includes Gaetane Verna, Director of The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery in Toronto; Christopher Scoates, Director of Cranbrook Academy of Art and Art Museum in Detroit; and Gia Hamilton, Director at Joan Mitchell Center in New Orleans. The $12,500 Category Awards for entries in two-dimensional, three-dimensional, time-based, installation and outstanding curatorial presentation will be selected by (Anila Quayyum Aga, and) the following artists: [More]
  • Miranda Lash, Curator of Contemporary Art at the Speed Art Museum in Louisville (2-D); 
  • Rachel Adams, Senior Curator of Exhibitions for the University at Buffalo Art Galleries, (3-D);
  • Scott Stulen, Director and President of Philbrook Museum of Art in Tulsa (Time-Based); 
  • Anila Quayyum Agha, Artist, Associate Professor of Drawing at Herron School of Art in Indianapolis. Agha won the $300,000 Public Vote and Juried Award at ArtPrize 2014 for her work, "Intersections."
  • Larry Ossei-Mensah, New York-based independent curator and cultural critic, Co-Founder of Artnoir. (Curatorial)
The voting public also will choose finalists who will be eligible for a $200,000 grand prize and $50,000 in category awards. This year's voting protocol has been changed so that the public voters and the jurors will be able to vote on the finalists chosen by both voting groups.