Saturday, April 13, 2013

$400,000 Awarded by Arts Council of Indianapolis for Creative Renewal Fellowships

By Greg Disney-Britton
"Holy Land" by Quincy Owens, 2013 Creative Renewal Fellow
INDIANA – At a special ceremony last night, the Arts Council of Indianapolis announced 40 new recipients of the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowships sponsored by the Lilly Endowment. The $400,000 program ($10,000 a person) is a two-year experience that offers recipients the opportunity to reflect, create, and explore.

2013 Round of Creative Renewal Fellows at the Kick-off Party
The 2013 Creative Renewal Fellows are: Theatre: Michael Shelton, Constance Macy, Gordon Richard Strain, and Claire Wilcher. Visual Art: Philip Campbell, Philip Lamie, David Kleeman, Quincy Owens, Jim Walker, Jeannine Allen, Benjamin Johnson, Justin Chase Lane, David Morrison, Anila Quayyum Agha, Linda Adele Goodine, Constance Edwards Scopelitis, Bonnie Stahlecker, Lesley Baker, Artur Silva, and Taylor Smith. Music: Betty Perry, Gordon Bonham, Rob Dixon, John Alvarado, Cathy Morris, William Engle, and Geoffrey S. Lapin. Literary: Dan Barden and Tasha Jones. Design: Carlos Sosa. Dance: Sabra Logan and Heather Helene King. Arts Administration: Joan Hostetler (Heritage Photo & Research Services), Janet Allen (Indiana Repertory Theatre), Glen Kwok (International Violin Competition of Indianapolis), Craig Wetli (Children’s Museum of Indianapolis), Joel Harrison (American Pianists Association), Beth Perdue Outland (Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra), Floranne Pagdalian (Arts for Learning), and Lori Raffel (Phoenix Theatre).